A Rainy Day Covenant

Genesis 9:14-15
14 “It shall be, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the rainbow shall be seen in the cloud; 15 and I will remember My covenant which is between Me and you and every living creature of all flesh; the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh.”

Walking home in the rain last night was really pleasant. There were a few cars but very few pedestrians as I wound my way through tree-lined streets to my apartment. After I got home and dried off, I listened to the rain with a smile on my face and reflected on God’s promise to “let the skies pour down righteousness” for His chosen people. (Isaiah 45:8)

This morning as the rain tapers off but the clouds remain, I remember the covenant God established with Noah after the Flood. (Genesis 8:20-9:17) This morning there may be no rainbow to be seen, but I know that God’s promises are true. I can walk in the rain and never fear that spring rain nor summer storm is God’s final judgment upon the earth, because God assured us that “the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh.” (v.15) And although I may not see the rainbow at the end of the storms in my life, God certainly does, and He says:

“The rainbow shall be in the cloud, and I will look on it to remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.” – Genesis 9:16

Even when we cannot see the sign of God’s covenant, He does, and He remembers His promise and keeps His word. Though rains may come and wash away our gardens, perhaps even our homes and businesses, even if violent storms come into our lives and threaten what little hope we have, we must cling to the promise of Christ, that “whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16) In storm or sun, let Christ be the rainbow for you today and every day.

Heavenly Father, thank you for the rain and the sun, the good times and the darkness. You are the Way, the Truth, and most certainly the Life. Our prayer today is that others will see the hope of Christ as a rainbow even in the midst of the storms of their lives. Praise God from whom ALL blessings flow. Amen.

– written June 13, 2009

About Glenn Pettit

I am a deacon at The Well of Iowa, and husband to a beautiful wife and the father of four lovely kids. Called to teach and to preach, I write fresh messages about the Bible every now and then.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

