WWGG?

John 17:4-5
4 “I have glorified You on the earth. I have finished the work which You have given Me to do. 5 And now, O Father, glorify Me together with Yourself, with the glory which I had with You before the world was.”

Have you ever needed a supreme kick in the head to finally bring your attention to something you’re doing wrong? For me, my “Balaam’s donkey” is often my children, who see with eyes of innocent discernment, noticing when I am straying from my life of integrity and service. Once when we were driving down the street and we faced an opportunity to help someone in need, one of my kids said to me, “You’re a man of God. What would a man of God do?” And I’ll tell you the truth: I was convicted right then to do more than I had been planning to do in that situation.

In such situations, we often present ourselves with the question “What would Jesus do?” But I believe that question misses the point, because Jesus would ALWAYS do something that would glorify God.

Look at Jesus’s prayer in John chapter 17. Jesus’ work was ever and always to glorify God in all things. So, what would Jesus do? He would glorify God. So, in the situation you are in – in triumph or trial, prosperity or poverty – what would glorify God? What action can you perform that brings the attention back to the One who gave us life? What can you say or do that reminds people that all glory and honor belongs to God?

From the very first time I read the New Testament, one passage really struck me as the essence of modern Christian living:


1 Peter 2:11-12
11 Beloved, I beg you as sojourners and pilgrims, abstain from fleshly lusts which war against the soul, 12 having your conduct honorable among the Gentiles, that when they speak against you as evildoers, they may, by your good works which they observe, glorify God in the day of visitation.

While living among sinners and non-believers, it is our EVERYDAY ACTIONS that will bring glory to God, not just the occasional act of mercy or kindness. In His own time, Jesus was spoken against as an evildoer, and yet He never once took credit for His works, always pointing to the might and majesty of the Father. Should not we all live such lives? The next time you feel like asking yourself “What would Jesus do?” take a second to consider and ask instead, “What would glorify God?”

Heavenly Father, all power and glory are Yours for all time. Humble me, O Lord, that I may never seek to compare myself to anyone other than the person You want me to be. Teach my heart to always seek Your kingdom, so that in all I say or do, You alone might be glorified. Amen.

About Glenn Pettit

I am a deacon at The Well of Iowa, and husband to a beautiful wife and the father of four lovely kids. Called to teach and to preach, I write fresh messages about the Bible every now and then.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

