An arm of flesh

2 Chronicles 32:7-8
7 “Be strong and courageous; do not be afraid nor dismayed before the king of Assyria, nor before all the multitude that is with him; for there are more with us than with him.
8 “With him is an arm of flesh; but with us is the LORD our God, to help us and to fight our battles.” And the people were strengthened by the words of Hezekiah king of Judah.

We have become so used to trusting in our own strength or wisdom or skill, it is difficult to put our trust in God. When we are faced with a situation that is seemingly beyond our capacities, the first words out of our mouths are often “I don’t know where to turn.” It may seem simple for you or me to then say to someone in such a situation, “Just turn to the Lord.” But until you’ve faced a similar situation, you won’t understand how tough that really is.

The night my wife died was the hardest night of my life. From the moment people were notified that something was wrong, I was surrounded by friends and family. Some prayed with me, some took care of my children, some coordinated with various officials. Many of them sat with me before and after she was gone, reminding me that “He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world.” (1 John 4:4)

That night and the following week were the longest days ever, and I am sure I would not have made it through so well if I had not been strengthened by people who showed me that “an arm of flesh” is nothing when compared with the power of our precious Savior. The armies of the Lord surrounded me and won many battles that week, and so I saw the wisdom of the prophet Zechariah’s words to Zerubbabel: “‘Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit,’ says the LORD of hosts.” (Zechariah 4:6b)

So I can honestly say in company with King Hezekiah, “With us is the LORD our God, to help us and to fight our battles.” Never despair, never think you have to face anything alone. Truly, turn to the Lord, and just see how He will be glorified in what He does in your life.

Lord God Almighty, Healer, Protector, Provider, Redeemer. I praise You for your strength and wisdom as it has been shown to me. I thank you for what You have done and will do on my behalf – such a gracious gift I could never earn nor repay. Use me, dear Lord, to be part of Your strength in this world. Allow me to serve Your will, that others will see Your glory and might. Amen.

About Glenn Pettit

I am a deacon at The Well of Iowa, and husband to a beautiful wife and the father of four lovely kids. Called to teach and to preach, I write fresh messages about the Bible every now and then.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

