The LORD will be a light to me

Micah 7:8-9
8 Do not rejoice over me, my enemy;
When I fall, I will arise;
When I sit in darkness,
The LORD will be a light to me.
9 I will bear the indignation of the LORD,
Because I have sinned against Him,
Until He pleads my case
And executes justice for me.
He will bring me forth to the light;
I will see His righteousness.

Last night the Lord laid these verses upon my heart to share with a friend, so that we could speak them aloud. They are, in essence, a spiritual rebuke against Satan and a worldly rebuke against those who would oppress us. More than that, of course, they are a bright note of Hope in the dark times of our lives.

There are two important things to be seen here. First of all, we are to know and announce that the Lord God will bring light into darkness. When we feel we are in a pit, He will help us to rise up; when we “sit in darkness,” He will be a light to us. And when He enacts justice for His faithful, that is when He brings us forth out of the darkness of our prison and into the light of His glory. That is a beautiful image, and one we ought not to let go.

But the other important thing is that we must bear with God’s sovereign judgment of OUR sins before He deals with those who sin against us. We have to acknowledge our sinfulness, repent of those things, and then cling to the hope of His blessed Son. Jesus is our intermediary, our intercessor before God. (Romans 8:34) Jesus Himself will plead our case and see to it that judgment is rendered appropriately. Yes, we must all bear the burden of our sins when we come before Christ, but to those who repent and believe in Him as Lord and Savior, He will grant eternal life. (John 3:16) And those who oppress others and deny Christ and refuse to repent, Jesus Christ will condemn them before God. What’s more, we will see Him execute justice on behalf of His children, and we who hold fast to Christ will see His righteousness in such judgment.

None of us is without sin, and we should remember that God’s mercies are new every morning. (Lamentations 3:22-23) But when we cling to the Cross for our salvation, then Christ will be our light and our righteous judge. He will draw us out of darkness and execute justice on our behalf. What a glorious Savior indeed!

Lord God in Heaven, thank You for Your constant presence in my life. Guide me today, Father, to be a light for others, to share Your gospel and Your justice with the world. Amen.

About Glenn Pettit

I am a deacon at The Well of Iowa, and husband to a beautiful wife and the father of four lovely kids. Called to teach and to preach, I write fresh messages about the Bible every now and then.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

