The merciful

Matthew 5:7
Blessed are the merciful, For they shall obtain mercy.

I am literally poor. My debts far outweigh my income, and yet I scrape by from day to day, week to week. I am sure I do so only by God’s mercy, and so I rejoice in Him. I glorify God, and I give as I am able. Every morning I write, because it is one thing that costs me nothing but which has great value for me – and, I pray, for you. As our Savior said to His apostles before sending them out to their first ministry:


Matthew 10:8
Heal the sick, cleanse the lepers, raise the dead, cast out demons. Freely you have received, freely give.

Shakespeare wrote a wonderful passage about mercy in his play “The Merchant of Venice”:


Though justice be thy plea, consider this,
That in the course of justice none of us
Should see salvation: we do pray for mercy;
And that same prayer doth teach us all to render
The deeds of mercy.

If we were to be judged by God without the measure of His mercy, as Shakespeare wrote, “none of us should see salvation.” It is only by God’s unending mercy that we are forgiven every day for our sins. By that same measure, knowing that God forgives us, we find that we are compelled to forgive. Needing mercy every day, we give mercy every day. Needing God’s aid every day, we must aid others every day.


Lamentations 3:22-24
22 Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed,
Because His compassions fail not.
23 They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness.
24 “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,
“Therefore I hope in Him!”

My spiritual debt to God far outweighs my means to repay Him. I once heard Pastor Melissa Scott say, “The heart of the gospel is ultimate giving.” What did she mean? We need look no further than that favorite verse of Christians everywhere:


John 3:16 (emphasis mine)
For God so loved the world that He GAVE His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

God GAVE us His Son that we might have eternal life. What could we possibly give Him in return? That is the heart of mercy, that we give and never expect any return. God gave His Son as a sacrifice for our sins, and He expects nothing more than that we should love Him. And in accepting this most gracious of alms, we find ourselves transformed into His likeness, merciful and forgiving. If God so freely gave, then so must we.

Gracious Heavenly Father, we praise You that mercy is one of Your eternal qualities. May my work and my ministry reflect Your mercy, Lord God. Please, find ways to use me to bring glory to Your Son by bringing His compassion and His mercy to the world. I ask nothing more, because You have already given us so much: the life of Your precious Son, Christ Jesus. Amen.

About Glenn Pettit

I am a deacon at The Well of Iowa, and husband to a beautiful wife and the father of four lovely kids. Called to teach and to preach, I write fresh messages about the Bible every now and then.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

