I am glorified in them

John 17:9-10
9 “I pray for them. I do not pray for the world but for those whom You have given Me, for they are Yours.
10 “And all Mine are Yours, and Yours are Mine, and I am glorified in them.”

I have to wonder sometimes if there is anything in my life through which Christ is glorified in me. I feel like I have not done enough to bring honor to the Son whom God sent to save us. What glory have I brought to Jesus? What measure of my faith has come anywhere close to lifting up Jesus as I know He deserves to be lifted up? But one thing I know for sure: I do honor Jesus as best I can, and that shall not be counted against me.


John 5:22-23
22 “For the Father judges no one, but has committed all judgment to the Son,
23 “that all should honor the Son just as they honor the Father. He who does not honor the Son does not honor the Father who sent Him.”

It isn’t much to ask, really, that we honor God in Jesus Christ, that we bring glory to His name through the way we live our lives. Even if the living testimony of our deeds and words never brings anyone to faith, yet we can still honor God in all we do. We need not die to bring glory to God, just live our lives with such grace that no one can say anything against God–and in fact, although they accuse us of wrongdoing, yet they will glorify God when He comes. (1 Peter 2:11-12)

The question, I suppose, is this: Is there anything in my life that is NOT honoring to God? Do we split our glorifying of God apart from all else we do, so that we think we can still do what we like and honor God at our leisure? Jesus did not pray that we be separated from the world, but that God should keep us from evil. (John 17:15) Does that mean we can keep on doing the things of the world? No, quite the contrary, we are to be sanctified in Christ–that is, set apart for God through our relationship with Jesus. Our hearts and minds and souls belong to Christ, for He alone has paid the price for them. How then can we deny Him His due glory in anything in our lives?

One might ask, “How can I glorify God in my everyday job or in how I raise my kids?” I would ask then, “How do you NOT honor God in those things?” We can detract from how we glorify God by doing things in a worldly way–with pride and self-indulgence, with worldly intentions and goals, with no thought to how the things we do reflect upon God’s honor and glory. So in order to honor God, we have to be humble and obedient, always reflecting upon our actions AND our intentions.


Colossians 3:23-24
23 And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men,
24 knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ.

If in all we do we honor God–doing our jobs as if the Lord were our Boss, raising our children as if God were their other Parent, weeding our garden or cleaning our house as if God were coming to visit, serving others with joy in our leisure time as if God were right there with us (which, of course, He is)–then we will naturally honor God. But if we separate our worship and glorifying of God to a different day and place, if we compartmentalize God apart from all else we do, then we will not be bringing glory to God as we ought.

Of course, we’re not talking here about lip-service or “eye-service”–those things that are noticed by others but which do not spring from the heart. We are talking about a whole attitude that wells up from within us, that is rooted in the gospel and our love for God.


2 Corinthians 5:14-15
14 For the love of Christ compels us, because we judge thus: that if One died for all, then all died;
15 and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again.

So we should live no longer for ourselves but for Him who died and rose again–that is, we should live for Jesus Christ. We are new creations, new men and women of God, holy and set apart from the world while still living within the world. Our due diligence is to serve our God with ALL that we do, so that whether one examines our work life or our private life or our church life, then all they will see is ONE life lived for the One who paid the price for our sins.

I am no more perfect than anyone else in this world, but Jesus died to make me holy before God. I must therefore live up to that, seeking God and His righteousness in all I do, working and serving as unto the Lord. My life is no longer my own, so I must quit living as though it were!

Brothers and sisters, God gave us into Jesus’ loving and nail-scarred hands, so that in Him we are sanctified and that in us He is glorified. Jesus cannot be glorified by things of the flesh–lust and pride and sinful intentions–but only by the things of the Spirit–holy living, righteous behavior, love for God, and obedience to the Word of God. If we do not glorify Christ in our lives, then our lives cannot bring others to Christ. Therefore, let us seek to honor our Savior through living for His glory alone, accepting His sanctification and truly living for Him in this needy and unbelieving world.

Holy Lord Jesus, be glorified in me. Teach me through the Holy Spirit how to live for You alone. Guide me and mold me, renew my mind so that I seek Your holiness and faith. Alone, Lord, I can do nothing, but with You I can do all things. Therefore, blessed Savior, take my life and shape it to Your image and to the Father’s will. Then I shall know that You, precious Lord, are glorified in me. Amen.

About Glenn Pettit

I am a deacon at The Well of Iowa, and husband to a beautiful wife and the father of four lovely kids. Called to teach and to preach, I write fresh messages about the Bible every now and then.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

